Writers Bloooooock | Writing Advice

Writers Bloooooock | Writing Advice

Having writer’s block is one of the most effective ways to make me close Word and resume wasting time on Instagram.

I don’t know if it’s just me but when I have writer’s block, I can’t focus on anything just what the next scene will be. I’ve heard a helpful tip on how to combat writer’s block, which is something along the lines of deleting the last ten or so lines because that just may be the problem.

Did I listen? Not in the least.

No, instead, I spent hours just thinking about what the next scene will be and how it can play out. I tried to conger up solutions and problems and words and flipped through the dictionary.

Did I solve the problem? Yeah. It just took a lot of brainpower.

Do I recommend this? I mean, if it works, it works, right?

There are better solutions on how to overcome writer’s block, such as just stepping back from your book and giving yourself a breath of fresh air.

Under no circumstance does that mean abandon your work for months on ends. Even if you have nothing to write…free write. As long as you write, ideas are bound to emerge from the dark corners of your brain and use them to your advantage.

You’re a creative writer after all and no one will have faith in you if you don’t have it in yourself.

How do you overcome writer’s block?

2 thoughts on “Writers Bloooooock | Writing Advice

  1. I heard an author say writer’s block is actually writer’s boredom. And thinking about it that way has been really helpful for me. If I’m blocked or bored, chances are the reader will be, too. Things to think about: if the scene is a chore, is it necessary? What’s its purpose?

    Like

    1. Whoa that’s actually a great way of looking at it. I do try to make sure every scene has a purpose but not that you mention this, i’m definitely going to have to go back and see if some scenes written after writers block are really necessary. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment